XARP - Hexen Authentic Resource Pack (jXCCP maintained)

Comments

• veirdo wrote:
    I sent him a PM
    B-)
    PostFatal wrote:
    The new ones look too much like the sprite especially since the don't spin. Trying to make models that look just like the sprites just seems to me to make D-Day improvements rather moot.
    I think the sprites should just be a starting point and model artists should make their models close but not so close that they look like just a better sprite.
    I agree with you with you that sprites are a starting point especially with regard to the low detail and resolution, but the feel and look should be preserved with the new model replacements. I'm not an expert in the technical capabilities of the DD engine, but for me the engine lacks in the moment some features that would the models look more plastic. I think veirdo's approach of creating the models is the right way and the particles effects are showing the advantages of DD. Just my 2 Cents :)
  • so should we expect a new texture pack based exclusively on the original textures? I think that would be a logical step. Many of the textures in the resource pack stray quite a bit from the originals. Flame mask and winnowing hall exterior for example. also the skull/ice walls at guardian of ice are far from original.
  • Personally, I've always considered that respecting the visual style of the original games is equally as important as the accuracy of the gameplay mechanics. I'm perfectly fine with the introduction of newer techniques/technologies in the realization of that. Take veirdo's particle effects on stuff like the Mage weapon projectiles, for example. These have been designed to respect the style of the original game sprites.
  • Thankfully Psychikon grants me a permission to modify his data, I could even try to fix a model bobbing.
    PostFatal wrote:
    so should we expect a new texture pack based exclusively on the original textures?