New WAD's for Zdoom

edited 2012 Apr 19 in Off-Topic
Hello all!

I just started level editing for the first time a couple days ago, and now I'm addicted to it. I'm still a beginner, but I managed to fork out two maps for Doom 2. One is called Blood Arena and is a replacement for MAP01, and the other, Relay Station, replaces MAP07. Relay Station is meant to be a 'first level' of sorts, I don't know why I chose MAP07 for it, so just warp.

Check them out here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/gravew ... /GraveWad/

The filename is 'sample.wad'

I would love to hear feedback/critique/etc =D>

Comments

• There’s not really a lot to critique here as these maps are so basic. But you've clearly gotten a fair grasp on triggers and sector types.

Though, one could comment on the idea of releasing maps meant for Port X on Port Y's forum.

That said, there is nothing but Vanilla features in these maps. A Visplane overflow in the first room of the second map and a couple of ZDoom-isms are the only reason they aren't Vanilla compatible:

Map 1 (map01):
    Tag lift sector 26 with a tag instead of leaving it as 0. In non-ZDoom based ports, triggers with a tag of 0 do not activate the adjacent sector, but every sector on the map with a tag of 0

Textures with holes in, such as BRNSMALC, do not render correctly on solid walls in Vanilla Doom; only in ports.

Map 2 (map07):
    The first corridor causes an immediate Visplane overflow on map start in Vanilla Doom.
    http://doomwiki.org/wiki/Visplane_overflow

Floor/ceiling movement in Vanilla Doom and faithful ports is blocked if there isn't enough head room for bad guys. Sector 7 has no difference between it's floor and ceiling height therefore, the Imps on it stop it from lowering.

Textures whose heights are not 128 tall, such as SW1EXIT, do not tile completely correctly in Vanilla Doom. Ports correct this.
  • Thanks Vermil, I'll try to fix those things up sometime this weekend.