Advice for getting started with modding (Heretic)

Greetings good people!
I am looking for advice/info/links on doing mods for Heretic (DE v2) - such as what tools are most common (Windows platform) etc.. I am new to the modding world, although I've been a huge fan of DE for years. I've been a software engineer for 31+ years so I do have a technical background, and I've worked with Photoshop and some other tools to build graphics for my software and web-site. But I do not have any experience working with 3D modeling or modding in general, so I'll be starting from ground zero there.

I have done some error troubleshooting with jHRP and created jHRP2 for use with DE v2, but that's as far as I've gotten so far. My first task is to enhance the pack with better textures or any items I find that are better than what's there already.

Whatever I can accomplish will ALWAYS go back to the community of course!

Thanks in advance for any insight or pointers!
/D

Comments

• Hi DavidInvenio! If you are seeking for a Heretic game modding stuff, you're better ask for it our member theleo_ua. He gathered all the stuff for Heretic ever existed.
    If you are looking for a Doomsday Engine mapping features, I think the skyjake may help you.
    If you are encourage yourself to make a classic (DE1.x) or modern (DE2.x) 3D models, I will be glad to help you.
  • Hello mate! Thanks for the reply!

I will certainly contact theleo_ua and see if he can offer any insight!

I don't think I'm ready to create new maps just yet, however, that is definitely a goal of mine because I haven't found that many (good) wads for Heretic!

As for models, yes I am definitely interested in creating/enhancing the models for DE2.
    Even though I do not (yet) have a very good graphics card to work with, I will be investing in one very soon!

For now I am reading all the Wiki docs I can find!

Can you give me a brief synopsis of exactly what things can be modded in DE?