Doom Lamp

edited 2015 Jan 26 in Addons for DOOM
hello people of the forums i have something to show you and yes i did post it in the DMP2 but this time i have fixed it up and at this point i am getting the uv's and normals done. the UV's are a right pain. will update this thread as i progress and also i am new to this so any criticism is welcome.

doom%20lamp%201.png First Wip Hi poly

Comments

• It is good people are making next gen assets for Doom. It will be interesting to see the future of Doomsday with all new models and effects.
  • i still have no idea what i am doing. lol but i do have a uv. don't know if it's a good one tho but i have it.

http://nikulas.webs.com/Doom%20Lamp.png
  • I suggest you do not care about uv's on a highpoly model. Instead of that you need to add some details on a a lamp. There need some seams where metal parts meet the glass, there need some fasteners also. It's good to have a concept art or live reference for that.
    That one for example
    http://g01.s.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1hkKEFVXXXXa6XXXXq6xXFXXXW/200169704/HTB1hkKEFVXXXXa6XXXXq6xXFXXXW.jpg
  • good luck, you modelling it in blender?

If you do want it to go into the dmp2, then you will need to do it in team fortress 2 texture style, As I believe it fits in with the style of the low res doom sprites.
  • KuriKai wrote:
    you will need to do it in team fortress 2 texture style, As I believe it fits in with the style of the low res doom sprites.
    If you are an art style keeper Kurikai, you need to have a proof for that. You need to have at least one reference model for DOOM game for a: monster, prop, background.
    Personally I didn't think that the original DOOM art style have any connections with the TF2 style, but the new models can be applied with that.
    Any game project have their own documented art guides, so if you want to apply to an Art Director burden, you need to describe it on a wiki for artists.