Playing My Old Wads

edited 2014 Oct 28 in DOOM
Hi All

I have been playing doom for 20 years and love the new look! Kudos on making an awesome game even more awesome! Question: I have a large wad (32 levels) file I am trying to load in Snowberry and I just can't place a check mark in front of it. Do you know how I could remedy this?

thanks!

Comments

• Maybe its a mod for a different game? (Ultimate Doom and Doom 2 use different schemes for identifying maps, which I recall Snowberry uses to try to determine whether or not a mod is suitable for that game).
  • Hi DaniJ

Doom2. All the other Doom2 wads work but this one. Strange. I am dying to see this was in Doomsday!
  • Have you tried loading it after starting the game? In Snowberry, select Doom 2 and start the game. Once you've reached the title screen, open the taskbar and in the console enter load "c:\path\to\my wads\<mod name>" (the quotes around the path are necessary only if it contains spaces). (The wiki has more information about using the Ring Zero CLI).

After the mod has loaded, try starting a new game. If that works then clearly this is a Snowberry specific issue you are having.
  • I will give it a try when I get home later.

Thanks!
  • DaniJ wrote:
    Maybe its a mod for a different game? (Ultimate Doom and Doom 2 use different schemes for identifying maps, which I recall Snowberry uses to try to determine whether or not a mod is suitable for that game).
    Snowberry will not actually display mods at all in the add-ons list, if it believes they aren't for the selected game. Though as long as any element of the mod can work in the currently selected game, it will allow the mod to appear in the list.

Obviously, this checking is also far from full proof, simply because some games share things; Doom1 and Heretic use the same map lump names for instance.