Windows 7 Building

edited 2014 Mar 26 in Developers
Hello. I'm new to the engine and would like to say thank you all for creating such an amazing resource.

That being said, I'm interested in creating a standalone title using the Doomsday Engine. I'm developing on Windows 7.

I've read the wiki and the forums, and am currently unable to build from source. I'm using version "stable-1.13". My Qt setup is currently, Creator 2.7.2, QT 5.1.0 (I can definitely update my QT to 5.2 and creator to 3.0.1, but I wanted to check if that was an issue first). My kit is using MSVC2012 OpenGL 64bit. My QT has worked fine for other projects I've had.

I'm specifically getting build errors about "ZipArchive" unresolved external symbols. I didn't see the wiki page on required sdks mention any zip stuff (which is why I think it may be an issue with my QT version).

Does this issue sound familiar to anyone?

Thank you for reading.

Comments

• they have not advanced that far in the qt build system. i think they are using i think 2.4.9 for mac and 2.5.2 for windows i am not sure. search the dev form area and the tech support area it will tell you more. the Deng team can also tell you more. but i think they have had problems building on the newest qt so they go with what works.
  • I'm specifically getting build errors about "ZipArchive" unresolved external symbols.
    Could you paste some of these errors here?

In general, I have checked that Doomsday is buildable with Qt 5, although some minor (mostly OS X related) issues remain with it. We are using Qt 4.8 (and Qt 4.7 on some older platforms) in the packages we distribute.
  • Thanks for the responses!

Here are the errors:
    ziparchive.obj:-1: error: LNK2019: unresolved external symbol deflate referenced in function "public: virtual void __cdecl de::ZipArchive::operator>>(class de::Writer &)const " (??5ZipArchive@de@@UEBAXAEAVWriter@1@@Z)

That goes on several times before this one: