Master Levels

edited 2012 Nov 17 in DOOM
There is a patch to compile all master levels into one .wad file here, and it works in zdoom and shows a menu in doom 2 to select to play Doom 2 or the Master Levels. When i use with doomsday, that option doesn't appear, so i assume that doomsday has made their own menu system or something.

Is there anyway to put the menu in with a .def file or something like it shows up in zdoom? or even a custom command to allow the games menu to show in game instead of what doomsday has made?

Comments

• I'd be interested in seeing this too! Sounds like a great idea, and I used to love the playstation Final Doom.
  • It should be possible to construct an interactive menu like that using InFine.
  • Unfortunantly, i am no coder, let's hope someone with spare time however can do this however as everybody has been asking about the master level's, so the want is high demand.
  • DaniJ wrote:
    It should be possible to construct an interactive menu like that using InFine.
    Well, the only way I see to implement the menu would be to bind a key for each choice, as InFine has no variables. Is that what you meant?
  • Indeed it would be somewhat clumsy, requiring an event handler for each choice (e.g., press 1 to load and play somemod.wad, press 2 to load and play someotherwad.wad) however it should be doable (certainly once ringzero has been merged to the master).

Ultimately Doomsday Script and the Scripted UI will replace this functionality with a much more robust tool set, however that won't happen until 1.9.8 at the earliest.
  • It seems to me this would just be easier to replace the first 20 levels in Doom2 as a normal add-on, and select it from snowberry.
  • For those with mod authoring knowledge yes, however this script would be an easy way for the average user to play the master levels as a set.
  • Well, it certainly would be nice to see this as an add-on from the doom2 menu.