DUMMY neds help with Ultimate DOOM

edited 2010 May 24 in DOOM
I have ultimate doom on 5 -3 1/2 in floppies. Disk 1 seems to have lost it's data sitting on shelf for years. I am a newbie so I don't know what mods, wad files, or souceports are. All I know is that I need the data thats on disk 1 in order to install the game. It is DOS based and I believe disk 1 has the exe file on it among other data. will someone take the time to help me? PLEEEEEEEEEZZZZZE!!!!!!

Comments

• open the other disks manually in windows and see if there is a .WAD file on any of them. If there is, that's all you need to run any sourceports of Doom. If you can't find it, you could download the Freedoom IWAD (main wad file, others are pwads or patch wads, which add alternate levels, graphics, etc.) and then install the Doomsday Engine with it, along with the upgraded graphics and models packs - then it shouldn't even look like Freedoom anymore anyway, but like an upgraded version of the original!
  • BAHIIWV wrote:
    Disk 1 seems to have lost it's data sitting on shelf for years.
    How do you know? Try to copy its contents to your hard drive. If you don't see errors, then it is probably isn't damaged.
    BAHIIWV wrote:
    I am a newbie so I don't know what mods, wad files, or souceports are.
    Try reading this : http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/WAD
    http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Source_port
    BTW, you're posting on Doomsday forums, and Doomsday is a source port.
    BAHIIWV wrote:
    All I know is that I need the data thats on disk 1 in order to install the game. It is DOS based and I believe disk 1 has the exe file on it among other data.
    If you have 32-bit Windows & a floppy drive, you can try to run the .exe and follow the instructions. If your Windows is 64-bit, or previous methodfails, try DosBox
  • Psychikon wrote:
    open the other disks manually in windows and see if there is a .WAD file on any of them.