Doomsday 1.15.8 server setup help

edited 2016 May 11 in DOOM
Hello, I have been using the Doomsday Engine for many years and absolutely love it. I grew up playing Doom and I thank everyone who developed the engine so much for their efforts and I also thank anyone who may be able to help me with this:

I have been trying to set up a multiplayer server that a bunch of my friends can connect to that live close to me so we don't have any lag issues. I figured out how to do it for LAN in my own house only but I can't figure out how to get the server to show up on the master server and be able to have my friends connect to it from their homes. I am currently running Doomsday 1.15.8 and have pretty much all of the add-ons installed from dengine.net/addons. Here is what my autoexec.cfg file has in it:

net-ip-port 13209
server-game-coop 1
server-game-skill 2
server-game-jump 1
server-game-coop-respawn-items 1
server-game-respawn 1
server-name "King's Coop Game!"
server-info "Come join my game"
server-player-limit 8
server-public 1
setmap 1 1

If someone could walk me through exactly (step by step) what I need to do to get my server to show up on the master server and have it so people can connect to it from their homes that would be great. I followed everything on wiki.dengine.net/w/Multiplayer_server and I believe I can see my server but I just can't connect to it. I actually see two servers come up and I can only connect to the LAN on I believe. I am not the greatest with networking but do have some friends that could help me figure it out. Thank you all so much.

Comments

• Glad to hear you're enjoying Doomsday. :)

If you are seeing your server listed on the master server page here on the website, it means you should be most of the way there. However, there are a couple of common pitfalls that prevent people from connecting to your server from the internet.