Lag and stuttering issues

edited 2013 Dec 22 in Technical Support
Hey everyone,

This is my first time here and I just got Doomsday running and stuff on my computer. I just got a new one today and it's great, however I am having an issue with Doomsday. The best way to explain it would be that it seems whenever I move through a level, it just lags and stutters pretty bad. Even worse if I am using amplified renderer settings. I am using the popular add-ons like the jdoom resource pack and high resolution textures. It's not a frame rate problem. My PC can definitely handle the game, engine, etc. Not sure what's causing it. Other than that, it's great and really good looking. I'm not getting any errors or anything, so there's nothing to paste here.

Here is some information about my PC to help you:
Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium SP1
Intel Core i7-4820K CPU 3.70GHz
16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 200 Series video card
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4 Motherboard

Comments

• Does it stutter if you don't use the high-resolution textures? Maybe the video card is running out of memory and needs to swap textures in and out.

Also, check that the "2x Smart Filtering" of textures ("rend-tex-filter-smart") is disabled, that will make all the textures 2x larger (4x memory use!).
  • skyjake wrote:
    Does it stutter if you don't use the high-resolution textures? Maybe the video card is running out of memory and needs to swap textures in and out.

Also, check that the "2x Smart Filtering" of textures ("rend-tex-filter-smart") is disabled, that will make all the textures 2x larger (4x memory use!).
    Somehow it went away. Not sure what I did haha. I kept fiddling with the options and now I can be on Amplified renderer and there's almost no lag now. It seems like it might do it whenever a new effect or something is drawn on the screen, but apart from that it's much smoother than it was. I still have all the add-ons on.