Sound Works But Music Doesn't Play Problem

edited 2016 Oct 19 in Technical Support
I'm running Doomsday 2.0 build 1874 on Windows 10 Pro. All sound drivers are loaded. When I start the game the sound works but the music doesn't play.

Comments

• Just tried to play on a other Windows 10 computer with the same results. Sound works but music doesn't play.
  • Apologies, but there doesn't appear to be a very active forum here.
    I had difficulties myself getting certain things going, I've only downloaded Doomsday around a week ago myself. Tutorials are a little sparse (or I can only say, I had problems locating some). Anyway, I'm still learning how to do things, but I managed to get sound working on Doom, Hexen, and Heretic. I have sound effects on Doom2, but I've been unable to get the music working as of yet.
    I'm going to assume you've used default installation paths, because each game has to have the music installed in a seperate location, and if you want it to automatically load on starting the game, it has to be placed in the 'auto' folder, which you have to create manually.
    Here is a little tutorial to demonstrate how to get Doom going with music :
    1) The default installation path for Doomsday 2 (build 1847) is 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Doomsday 2.0.0'
    2) In order to get addons like music working, you need to create a folder of the game name with the letter 'j' infront.
    examples : 'jdoom', 'jdoom2', 'jhexen', 'jheretic' this folder needs to be created in the 'data' directory - example :
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Doomsday 2.0.0\data\jdoom
    3) Download the Doom music file from this page : http://www.dengine.net/addons
    Look for the linkname : "DOOM Classic Music 2008.09.30"
    4) Create your 'auto' directory in the 'jdoom' directory and place the downloaded file into it.
    example : C:\Program Files (x86)\Doomsday 2.0.0\data\jdoom\auto