Reinchard's Hi-res Doomguy face

edited 2014 Jul 18 in Addons for DOOM
Please guys don't laugh, this is my first attempt with graphic of face, so be compassionate :) I know, hair looks like shit, but is inly placeholder. Just trying make some high-resolution Doomguy face.
IKE1pbp.jpg

Comments

• laugh? why would we laugh at that?
    that looks pretty awesome if you ask me!

he doesnt really look much like the doomguy yet,
    and it could use some work but i think it still looks pretty great!

thats quite impressive :)
  • A heck of a lot better than anything that currently exists (realism-wise). The hair on the head is also realistic.
  • maybe a bit too gaunt in the cheeks.

but very well done, looking good, I think it is quite close to the doomguy
  • That looks pretty well done to me Reinchard.
    I had my go at the doom guy face some years ago, but I made them at a much smaller scale.
    I think it was around 42 frames? at somewhere around 256x scale.

Looks good though man!
    Just remember, before doing more frames that such detail will never be seen in the HUD display..
    Just a small warning so you don't waste your time on all the rest of the frames at that scale.
    It really is a lot of work for the amount of frames for animation.
    If you decide to do them though, may I suggest redoing sprites, monsters etc instead..? those are really needed in terms of hi-res recreation!

Unless of course it is to only be based on the video that Gary posted? it's a really nice hi-res revision! :)
    Damn fine job!

Cheers
  • Yes, I think about remaking some other sprites. Thank you guys for good words and your opinions! That head was first modeled in MakeHuman program, and after that I'm working in it in Photoshop. I plan to create in this way a skin for 3d model, which can be animated. But, for now, is only a test - I was wondering if it is even possible to remake that face in realistic way.
  • So what you guys say about this:
    vXMKcjp.jpg